College of the Rockies announces local appointments to Board of Governors

College of the Rockies’ Board of Governors is pleased to announce the appointment of five new Board members.

  • Sep. 24, 2014 7:00 a.m.

College of the Rockies’ Board of Governors is pleased to announce the appointment of five new Board members, two of whom are from the Columbia Valley — Wilda Schab of Invermere and Windermere’s Jesse Nicholas.

In addition to Ms. Schab and Mr. Nicholas, appointed to the College Board through Provincial Order in Council are Steen Jorgensen, Cindy Yates of Cranbrook, and Krys Sikora of Golden.

Wilda Schab retired as general manager of Radium Resort Limited Partnership in 2014. Previously, she was general manager at FHS Golf Management, worked as an English professor in Chile and China, held the position of Chief Financial Officer of PBM Service, was an accountant with a certified accounting firm, and taught high school. She also served as city councillor in North Battleford, and was a board member of CODE Canada, the president of Saskatchewan Ladies Golf and national director of Rules. She holds a Bachelor of Education (Business) from the University of Regina and a Masters in Communications from Royal Roads University.

Jesse Nicholas is the communication manager for the Ktunaxa Nation Council. He has worked in a variety of positions and roles in the past including Parks Canada and is a former employee of College of the Rockies. Mr. Nicholas is also a board member on the First Nations Technology Council and was an elected councillor in his home community of Akisqnuk First Nation in Windermere from 2006 to 2010. He completed a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Victoria in 2006. He currently resides in Cranbrook with his wife Rachael and son Jacob.

The five new members join Dave Handy (board chair), Ken Hoeppner (vice-chair), Jim Abbott, Glen Campbell, Rob Ondrik, and Gloria Perry who were previously appointed. Retiring from the board after fulfilling their mandate are Orest Federko, Joe Pierre, Richard Reinders and Doris Penner.