Regional district recognizes volunteers

The recipients of the 2012 Electoral Area Volunteer Appreciation Awards have been announced.

The Regional District of East Kootenay’s Board of Directors has announced the recipients of the 2012 Electoral Area Volunteer Appreciation Awards.

“Volunteers are the heart of our rural communities, so these awards are really important to us,” said RDEK Board Chair Rob Gay. “We are grateful to all of the volunteers who make this region what it is, and it is an honour to pay tribute to these six deserving individuals this year.”

This year’s recipients are: Jeri Mitchell, Electoral Area A; Maxine Johnson, Electoral Area B; Angie Jones, Electoral Area C; Charlie Harding, Electoral Area E; Norman Hendricks, Electoral Area F and Sharon Wass, Electoral Area G.

Nominees had to be a resident of an electoral area and make voluntary contributions to the spirit, culture or people of the community.

The RDEK has been running the Volunteer of the Year Awards Program since 2001. The 2012 Volunteers of the Year will receive their awards at appreciation dinners in June.